Magical Relationships

**Note: This post was left unfinished in October, but this morning as I finally took a moment and had a new thought to blog about I found it in my draft box.  When I saw these pictures it brought back memories of this great moment.  We are preparing for another such moment at our church on Monday.  I promise to share reflections on our Martin Luther King Day Munch more quickly.***

 

Nobody can do for little children what grandparents do.  Grandparents sort of sprinkle stardust over the lives of little children. – Alex Haley

Magical Munch 028 Magical Munch 031 Magical Munch 003 Magical Munch 005 Magical Munch 007

Do you believe in Magic?  I saw magic yesterday.  I saw children who we typically isolate into homogeneous age groupings making friends with people 10x their age.  I saw seniors reading books to captivated children.  On this day I saw God’s intention for the church: one generation bringing another along, telling them the stories of their life, incorporating them in to the community.  What a blessing.

Everyone needs to have access both to grandparents and grandchildren in order to be a full human being. – Margaret Meed

One thought on “Magical Relationships

Leave a Reply

